yourarthere.net

Support subnavigation

Posted in Uncategorized by callibeth on April 8, 2010

I looked the subnavigation collection at Patterntap for ideas and best practices. Nearly all the subnav patterns shown at Patterntap include dropdowns or flyouts. I don’t think that’s our style on this website.

Panels are less usual, but that seems to be the appropriate answer for our content and space. I like the idea of an outline-style accordion; this one looks good. (To tell you the truth, I’m not even sure it’s an accordion, but it could be. The drawback of Patterntap is that you only see a picture and don’t get to experience the UI.) An accordion like that, together with a tag-based drop-down list and a search bar would present the user with a lot of choices for finding articles. Could be overkill, though. Maybe 2 out of 3 wouldn’t be bad, then.

We could do something like this example and show how many articles are in each group.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Owen said, on April 8, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Both of these look good. Could you mock something up? By the way, you can click on the source link on the page with the picture on their website.

  2. Lin said, on April 8, 2010 at 9:42 pm

    Usability!

  3. callibeth said, on April 8, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Good to know. I looked for something like that, but I guess I missed it. I’ll mock something up.


Comments are closed.

